A Highlighter Pen

My need for a highlighter varies from project to project. More than once when I’ve reached for a disposable highlighter that has sat unused for so long, it’s gone dry. Then that disposable pen ends up in the landfill.

Noodler's highlighting ink and a Platinum Preppy pen modified by Nathan Tardiff
Noodler’s highlighting ink and a Platinum Preppy pen modified by Nathan Tardiff

Bottled highlighting ink can be used in refillable pens. The modified Platinum Preppy pen came with the bottle of Noddler’s Year of the Golden Pig. As an eyedropper pen, the Preppy is refillable. The tip will need to be changed periodically, so it is not my ideal refillable pen. I’ve heard some complaints that the Preppy tip can dry out after very few uses. I have not found that to be true. I do have to take care to remember, however, the the cap does not screw off. I’ve accidently spilled ink from the barrel more than once. I bought this pen and ink combo in early May. My expectation is that it will last me a very long time. We’ll see. I’m interested in knowing how a Sailor Profit Brush pen works with highlighting ink. Anyone?

Note: Here’s an Updated Post to this Highlighter

