Conklin Crescent 2009 Version

I’ve always been curious about crescent filler pens because they can be filled using one hand. And so they can! A new addition to my pen stable, the 2009 Conklin Crescent is very impressive and fun to use.

Conklin 2009 Crescent FP
Conklin 2009 Crescent FP

The Conklin Mark Twain Crescent Fountain Pen is the most recent iteration of the famous crescent filler pen. Named in honor of Mark Twain, who endorsed the pen in advertisements of the early 1900’s, the pen is an inexpensive crescent filler, and a smooth, wet writer. Made of cellulose acetate with a steel nib bearing the Conklin logo. I do not have information about how this pen is manufactured.

This pen is one of the few brand new pens I own. Most pens I have come to me as 2nd or 3rd owner. Occasionally I obtain a new pen that was made many years ago and never sold or used.

There’s a good review of the pen on the Fountain Pen Network. Also refer to “The Crescent Filler, Then… and Now for more information about crescent filler pens.

Everytime I write with this pen I think of Mark Twain.

To get the right word in the right place is a rare achievement. To condense the diffused light of a page of thought into the luminous flash of a single sentence, is worthy to rank as a prize composition just by itself…Anybody can have ideas–the difficulty is to express them without squandering a quire of paper on an idea that ought to be reduced to one glittering paragraph.
– Letter to Emeline Beach, 10 Feb 1868

