More Conklins

The modern Conklin Pen Co. was sold this week to Yafa, a U.S. pen distributer and owner of Monteverde pens. The original Conklin company began in 1891 and closed in 1955. Conklin was resurrected by Harold and Rob Rosenberg in 2000. It’s rumored that the modern Conklin company struggled some with the economic downturn but especially with the passing of Harold Rosenberg in 2007.

3 Mark Twain Conklin Crescent filing pens. Left to right: Desert Red Stone, Spring Green Gold Leaf, Blue/Yellow Marble.
3 Mark Twain Conklin Crescent filing pens. Left to right: Desert Red Stone, Spring Green Gold Leaf, Blue/Yellow Marble.

With the old stock closing out, I acquired two more modern Mark Twain Conklin Crescents. The nibs on these two pens do not have the standard Conklin logo, but write as smoothly as the Spring Green I originally purchased. In addition to the three marbled colors, the modern Crescent was also made in black.

It will be interesting to see what direction Yafa takes the Conklin line. I hope they will resurrect the Nozac which was an early American piston filling pen.

Update: 4/22/2010

The two pens I bought on close-outs turned out to have ink flow problems. They skipped occasionally and often did not write on the first few strokes. As I obtained these pens as gifts for friends I needed them to write perfectly. I sent them to Michael of MikeItWork.com and he turned them into the writers they were meant to be. No complaints from my friends who love them!

My remaining Conklin acrylic (the lovely Spring Green) I tried to fix myself. Cracked collar and bent nib later… off it went to Michael who repaired it to writing glory. Fixing pens sometimes leads to having someone fix up after you.

Update: 10/05/2013
These pens were re-gifted and sold long ago. Despite having no Conklins remaining in my tiny pen hoard, my affection for Conklin remains strong.

