Two Bexley Fountain Pens

Updated 2016 Apr 20:  These aforementioned two pens were re-homed long ago. Other Bexleys have come and gone.

The one must keep Bexley in my collection is this out-of-production BX802 Cappuccino acrylic:

bbx802
Bexley BX802 in Cappuccino acrylic, factory stub 18K nib

 

Original post:

Founded in 1993, Bexley Pen Company manufactures pens in Columbus, Ohio. There are two Bexleys in my pen stable. Both are favorite writers.

Cream and Brown Bexley Submariner Fountain Pen. Well-loved with a bit of ink staining on the section near the nib.
Cream and Brown Bexley Submariner Fountain Pen. Well-loved with a bit of ink staining on the section near the nib.

The first, acquired second hand from a wonderful fountain pen person, is a Bexley Submariner. The Submariner is no longer in current production, but can still be found in some online and brick and mortar stores. The color of this pen called out to me, and it is the only cartridge converter pen in my small collection. The pen is made from a rich marbled acrylic. Beneath the more golden – in my mind caramel – chunks  in the marble you can see the nib under the cap, and the piston converter in the barrel. The wonderful nib is a two-tone, soft 18K nib with a Bexley engraving. I believe the nib is manufactured by Bock. The nib was a wet medium when I received it, and I had it reground to an extra-fine width. The Submariner weighs 12 grams inked and unposted. The cap weighs an extra 8 grams. Unposted, the length of the pen is 5″ from nib to end.

The Sheherazade's 18K Fine Bexley Nib
The Sheherazade’s 18K Fine Bexley Nib

My second Bexley fountain pen is a Sheherazade, also a discontinued pen. I managed to acquire one new from a Bexley dealer. The Sheherazade is a piston filler. The last piston filler Bexley made. Current Bexley fountain pens are all c/c.

The pen is heavier than the Submariner, weighing 14 grams inked and unposted. The cap weighs an extra 8-9 grams. Unposted the pen’s length is just under 5″. The Tortoise acrylic sports a lot of translucency. My pen is fitted with an 18K fine, two-tone Bexley nib. Side by side the Submariner is thinner yet slightly longer in length. Both are extremely comfortable in my small writer’s hand.

Uncapped Bexleys Side by Side
Uncapped Bexleys Side by Side
