Keeping Time Simple

Don’t say you don’t have enough time. You have exactly the same number of hours per day that were given to Helen Keller, Pasteur, Michaelangelo, Mother Teresa, Leonardo da Vinci, Thomas Jefferson, and Albert Einstein.—H. Jackson Brown, Jr.

The end of a year brings an opportunity for deeper reflection on my goals and aspirations. My New Year’s ritual is not to make resolutions. Resolutions, I’ve long believed, are for those who don’t live in the present moment. Instead I like to take a thorough personal inventory of how I’ve moved through the year, what was good, what was inspiring, what enhanced my spiritual, intellectual, emotional, financial, and physical development.

2009 was a bit of a rough year in my house because of accidents and illness. In wondering where the year “went,” my partner and I acknowledged to each other we “lost the entire summer”—a huge hunk of time. While, of course, we were present through those missing months, often I was not operating anywhere near my full capacity. C’est la vie. C’est la vie.

Obviously we cannot make up for time that feels lost. As I look ahead into 2010 at all I want and need to accomplish, I feel a very strong need to reclaim some time from some activities are not as necessary as others. My time reclamation project began a few weeks ago and it will grow more noticeably to those around me online and somewhat in “face time.” Facebook will go “dead.” Twitter will become a scheduled event as I decide whether or not to delete that account. FPN will be a continued time-out place. Scheduled, of course!

I’ve been online since the early 1980’s. Watching and being part of the internet explosion has been a tremendous joy. As an information-geek-kind-of-writer online access to databases and such has been liberating. There is also a lot of misinformation that propagates too easily. In my own posts it’s been important to me to be careful about relaying information that cannot be verified without a source.

Ah but I digress…and I wonder who said that first?

And so, I’ve much to write, research to make sense of, and stories to craft. I will be offline much more than I have in a long, long time. Emails will wait a bit each day. “Over-researching,” an activity many a writer knows well, will be reigned in. Instant internet gratification will cease. Since I am able to focus myself I will.

There is a reason to actually have a fountain pen, you know. A bit of slow writing, and slow communication, is in order. (A tip of the hat there to the slow food people.) Sometimes the way to accomplish much is with considered grace.

The number of posts averaged on Peaceable Writer come to about 4 or 5 per month. In that sense, nothing much will change in 2010. I will continue to blog as the pen or topic moves me to do so.

The best way to keep up with the blog will continue to be by email subscription (that rocks!) or by RSS feed.

Happy, happy  New Year wishes to all my friends and readers! May we all experience time that fulfills us. A toast to joy, to life, to the simple things we love!

Dost though love life? Then do not squander time, for that’s the stuff life is made of.—Benjamin Franklin, Poor Richard’s Almanack, Nov. 1743

6 thoughts on “Keeping Time Simple

  1. Beautifully said!

    I made a conscious decision to avoid social media for the same reason. Yet, I sit for hours reading all the blogs I’m following out of an addiction to finding like-minded souls. As a result, I’m looking at the subscriptions on Google Reader and unsubscribing to many. (Unfortunately the unsubscribing feature is not working and they come back the next time I log in. But eventually Google will fix the problem.) Your blog wil remain on my list, however, as I have truley enjoyed your writing.

    Have a wonderful and SLOW 2010!

    Like

  2. I hope that you do not close your Twitter account completely as you would be greatly missed, however I completely understand and support you if that is the decision that you come to.

    I have your blog on my Reader and will continue to enjoy it and hope to bump into you on FPN from time to time.

    I wish you all the best for the new year!!

    Like

  3. A very thoughtful and inspiring post and I wish you a prosperous and happy new year with less ordeals than last year! Thanks for a great blog!

    Like

Comments are closed.