Writing Down the Ink #2

Writing Down the Ink #1

10 thoughts on “Writing Down the Ink #2

  1. So you are really doing it huh? How on earth have you managed to be down 3 bottles already?

    I will say that you are rubbing off on me just A TAD BIT. I do realize that 80 bottles of ink are perhaps a few too many. I’ve seriously curtailed my ink buying. I haven’t bought a new bottle of in since the J Herbin 1670 ink came out. I’m proud of myself.

    I’m appeasing my desire for new ink buy trying various ink samples. It’s mostly working. Though this, admittedly, still results in ink accumulation.

    I think my ink addiction is incurable…

    Like

  2. Thanks, Scott! It’s always an honor to be included in your wonderful aggregate of links!

    It is not easy, Dizzy, but I remain determined. You ask how did I get 3 bottles down “already?” And I’m feeling I’m going too slowly! The Diamine Prussian Blue and Herbin Cacao were fairly well used to begin with? They were different sizes? Most of the remaining bottles are at 3/4 full, I’d say.

    One FPN I’ve heard some say they go through 3 -50ml bottles a year, others say 1-30ml every 2 weeks, 1-50ml every month, others say they’ve never finished a bottle in many, many years. Lots of variety, eh?

    When I get back to my normal writing routine in a couple of weeks I’ll be able to watch and quantify how much I’m using.

    What works for moi is merely that and not a judgment or admonition for anyone else!

    A personal tenet is: Say what you mean and mean what you say. Yes, I’m “really doing it!”

    Like

  3. Thanks, Julie. I’ve been fiddling for two months w/ a “psychology of inks” idea, with zero success. (I don’t have the background for it may be one explanation.) Your writing samples are helping me to bury the idea, at least until I get too much time on my hands again.

    Like

  4. Yeah, Julie, that’s it exactly. I fiddled a bit. All I came up with was that some ink colors would be regarded as “nice”, “kinda cool”, or “appropriate”, others as “doesn’t look right”, “goofy”, “inappropriate”. Well-known color associations, green for envy or yellow for cowardice (or cheerfulness), maybe literary in origin, didn’t seem to apply.

    I have PR’s Ebony Purple, which resembles Imperial Rome’s Tyrian purple (at least on my monitor), but I think the “subliminal message” most people would get is that it’s a sort of neat-looking “off-black”.

    I could be missing a lot, Julie. And, yes, I’m a big admirer of Dizzy Pen, Note Booker, Esq., Harmless Dilettante, and your own ink enthusiasm.:-)

    Like

  5. P.S. to myself… I’m always misspelling the Caran d’Ache inks as Caran d’Arche. Cut it out!!!

    From Wikipedia:
    Caran d’Ache was the pseudonym of the 19th century French satirist and political cartoonist Emmanuel Poiré. “Caran d’Ache” comes from the Russian word karandash (карандаш), meaning pencil (of Turkic origin; “karadash” meaning black stone — used for writing on a “karatash” meaning black slate). While his first work glorified the Napoleonic era, he went on to create “stories without words” and as a contributor to newspapers such as the Lundi du Figaro, he is sometimes hailed as one of the precursors of comic strips. The Swiss art products company Caran d’Ache is named after him.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caran_d%27Ache

    Like

  6. Julie, I didn’t get any subliminal messages. That’s what I was getting at. Somebody on FPN (can’t remember details) mentioned a psychology of ink, but I think he meant there’s a meaning for the writer, not the recipient. I’ll guess that other folks may have differing views.

    There are British GCSE exams I looked up: initial grading’s done in green ink, follow-up (supervisory?) in red. But, I think the sole point is to differentiate the graders.

    Having dismissed a psychology of ink, I still get a kick out of my PR Ebony Purple. I just don’t expect anyone to think I’m channeling the Caesars. I like PR Chocolat, but I don’t think anyone who reads a postcard written with it will say it’s like aged ink on yellowed paper, maybe a sort of antique/weathered effect.

    I may have mentioned before, Julie, I’d still like to see a “Guidebook to Fountain Pen Inks”, written by folks who are more savvy than I am (and that means a lot of people!).:-) I’d like the change-up of loading with an ink that resembles something used by the Spanish conquistadors, e. g. Sounds goofy, maybe, but a change-up of writing tools sometimes jogs my brain.

    Like

    1. I’m with you on the change-up jogging the brain. For me, the change-up is all about toggling the subconscious element of creativity out of its rut.

      Like

Comments are closed.