Tale of a Vandal Pen User: Dueling Cumlaudes

beautiful pens, side by side

The small version of the Danitrio Cumlaude rarely comes up for sale, much less one with an 18K gold nib. Recently one did and I snagged it.

On arrival, I was surprised to find the new-used acquisition was an original  Cumlaude—unlike the “close-out” version in my collection. There are major differences between the two pens, although mostly below the surface.

The original Cumlaude has the following features:

  • an 18K nib with a Danitrio logo
  • a metal section
  • the section is more defined in its tapering
  • a screw-in type converter
  • the cap band has an imprint: “Trio Cumlaude”
  • a weight of 4grams more

The “close-out” Cumlaude boasts none of those things. I’m referring to it as a “close-out” Cumlaude because its my understanding these types were the last of the Danitrio Cumlaude stock. The “close-out” has:

  • a steel, gold-plated nib
  • no metal internals
  • no cap band imprint

That pen makes an ideal eyedropper-style filling pen!

The metal section of the “new,” original Cumlaude posed an initial disappointment for me as I had intended to fill the pen “eyedropper mode” like I do with my other Cumlaude. In fact, I had thought to sell my “close-out” version in favor of keeping the one with the 18K nib. For the moment, I’m keeping both and opting to celebrate the differences between the two pens. This poses a high-flalutoon pen problem for moi as a second Cumlaude is one more pen than I have room for in my pen storage cigar box.

The celluloid in both pens is the same luscious brown-marble. The 18K nib has a bit of softness to it. The smaller Cumlaude, like its larger brother, was made in both brown and grey/blue marble celluloid.

Related posts:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “Tale of a Vandal Pen User: Dueling Cumlaudes

Comments are closed.