Tale of a Vandal Pen Collector: The Falcon

Note 2013 July 8:  To those of you coming from Ink Nouveau to read about the Falcon as an EDable pen. (Tip of the thank-you-hat to Brian G!)  I’m not alone in my thumbs down of the Falcon as ED pen—see what Julie/Okami has to say in the comments below. However, two experiences do not a consensus make! Anyone successfully converting the Falcon to an ED, please leave a comment! Would love to hear about your experience. It’s all about experimenting, ay? Well, for some of us. The Falcon is still a very neat pen. The original post follows:

Little nudges can send you down a long, winding path you did not intend to go. My tale begins with a gift of a Pilot Vanishing Point bought for a friend. All gifts of pens must be tested to ensure they function properly. As I did so I was reminded about how sweet and silky smooth a VP nib can be. Yet weighing-in inked at 31 grams, the Vanishing Point is way too heavy for moi. There was never any danger of, uh, forgetting to gift the pen to my friend.

After a recent decision to re-home three pens, I acquired one pen: a black resin Namiki* Falcon with a soft fine (SF) nib. The Falcon is a classic among pen lovers, especially those who love to flex their nibs. The idea was that the Falcon just might make a good eyedropper conversion pen and make up for the three c/c pens I was re-homing. Also I was curious about the nib. Would it be anything like the VP nib?

The nib. Its looks are very dramatic and writes smoothly enough. Not at all VP smooth. As many FPN’ers have shared with me, the VP and the Falcon are two different beasts provide very different writing experiences. To me, the Falcon’s nib felt very similar to the wonderful Platinum SF nib that was re-homed, except that the Falcon writes with a wetter line.  Many Falcon lovers will tell you that the nib changes and becomes softer with long term usage. I was sorely tempted to give the Falcon time to evolve. Note the past tense in that last sentence.

The resin Falcon can be converted to an eyedropper (not at all true with the metal Falcons). However…the unique nature of the Falcon feed made it a fussy candidate. The Falcon’s feed is designed to provide adequate ink flow when writing quickly and when flexing. At least in my experience, the volume of ink that an ED provides caused ink to ooze when the pen was capped. The oozing was minimal and might have been expectable if the pen never left the desk. My world requires pens to bump around coffee-house to library to anywhere needed. Thus the Falcon’s ED-ness was not acceptable.

Let me emphasize that the oozing never happened when using the pen’s converter. Hence, my theory about the volume of ink overwhelming the ink flow dynamics. Could be wrong. It’s my theory. If you have a theory, please post it.

Because I did not want or need another c/c pen that could not be ED’d, the Falcon has found a new home. In its place, I decided for the time being to keep the resin Platinum #3776. This pen also cannot be ED’d to my satisfaction but, hey, I have a choice! And I choose the #3776 as more suited to me. Even so, the resin Falcon is a cool, lightweight pen. It weighs 10 grams un-posted and inked up!

The story does not end here. While the lovely Falcon was vanquished from my pen box, the nudge of the Vanishing Point was powerful and nudged threw me deeper into the glen of Pilot pens.  That is the subject for part two of this tale.

_________________________________________

*Namiki and Pilot are the same company. Read this FPN post about the company’s name.
Note to readers not familiar with PeaceableWriter: There is no flexing of pens on this blog. Or in my life. For your flexing jones please click here. Some of you may ask, “what is pen flexing?” Please read here.

2 thoughts on “Tale of a Vandal Pen Collector: The Falcon

  1. I agree completely with your observations about the ED conversion with this pen, I attempted this myself and it leaked horribly. So back to the converter, which is ok since I use this pen for sketching.

    Like

    1. Hey Julie, thanks for weighing-in! There are plenty of pens that DO convert easily so it was easy for me to pass on this one. I admire what you artists and sketchers and calligraphers can do with this pen.

      Like

Comments are closed.