Edison Huron Revisited: If You Like It, Put a Ring on It

Four years have passed since acquiring my very first Edison fountain pen, this cheery Edison Huron in yellowstone acrylic:

Edison Huron yellowstone acrylic
Edison Huron yellowstone acrylic

One of the first prototypes of the Huron, this pen remains my all time favorite writer. I fell for the yellowstone when I saw a Bexley Americana in this acrylic. Beautiful pen, but not quite “right” for moi. Later, someone posted on FPN about an Edison Herald in the yellowstone material. Edison? Same material? Hmmmm…. And so I contacted Brian Gray who said he access to that beautiful stuff. One thing led to another, and my Huron came to be materialized.

The nib has been through some changes: the fine point has been re-ground by Michael Masuyama to something even finer (.2mm) because I like ’em that way. At least most of the time.

A Bit  About Nibs

Originally, the F nib on the Huron felt too big and fat, and I went through a few mangling attempts to reign it in. In the writing sample below: A = original F nib the Huron began with. B = the nib as it is now, modified by Mr. Masuyama. C = The stock EF nib on my Custom Edison Tortoise Lucite. What a difference among the three! I really like my teeny Masuyama nib. Yet the EF on the Tortoise Lucite may be “just right.”

Huron nib writing comparison
Huron nib writing comparison

Sometime ago, I noticed that my Huron’s nib unit was threaded differently than the current crop of Edison nibs. The current nibs won’t screw into my Huron’s section.

Top: current nib unit threading. Bottom: older style threading.
#6 Edison Nibs – Top: current nib unit threading. Bottom: older style threading.  Current nib unit has a large lip at top, and different # of threads near bottom.

Ut oh. What if I want another of those cool stock EF nibs? What to do? Ask Brian, ay? Brian emailed,

Your Huron uses a housing that I don’t use anymore.  But you can still switch nibs. You will simply pull the nib and feed, but leave the housing in whatever pen you want to trade with.

Hey, I can do that! Simple, right?

The other option would be to have a section made to hold the current nib units. The beautiful yellowstone acrylic is long gone, and so a new section would have to be in black acrylic, or some other material.

Swapping out the nib and feed is a great option for a vandalizing pen user like moi.

Everything I Learned Came from the Huron

The yellowstone Huron changed the direction of my pen hoard. For some of you, I’m repeating myself, I know. That’s the price of being a Blessed steady-freddy reader.

Early on in my return to fountain pens, I bought pens people recommended because they were “classic,” had vintage celluloid, or were popular piston fillers. Often, a pen would have something I liked, but overall there was always something dissatisfying about a pen. The pen might have a great nib but be too short, or too heavy, or a clumsy lever filler, or spurt ink on the paper. Or the pen itself might be beautiful but be a drag on the paper to write with.

The Huron taught me I could have a pen in a material I loved (and still do); a shape that appealed to me; a pen that’s light in weight and has good balance; and a pen that fits my hand perfectly. The Huron was my first eyedropper pen. That ED aspect was my biggest lesson: a pen with no internal parts to fuss with, holding 3ml of ink.

Edison Huron
Edison Huron

My nib preferences evolved towards the Japanese fine-point style, and I went through a period of frustration with European nibs. They wrote so big and fat in comparison.  Thanks to great nib-grinders, I can have a nib point size I like on my American pen.  Although, sometimes one even falls in love with a stock European nib! (That EF on the Custom Edison is super sweet.)

All other writing pens continue to be measured against this Huron. Any pen has got to make  me as happy as it does.

And so we can say, so far so good, ay? The Huron remains a successful investment for moi.

Loving the Clipless Cap

I will confess that at times looking at the Huron all capped up, me has thought to Self, “The cap could use a little something to break up all that cheery-ness.”

Edison Huron in Yellowstone Acrylic
Edison Huron in Yellowstone Acrylic

Chatting with Brian Gray about a different pen, we explored and dismissed various cap bands, ring stops, and clips. You might know I don’t really like clips all that much. A lot of them just look “necessary” as opposed to interesting. Often they just get in my way.

I mentioned to Brian my feeling about the Huron yellowstone cap. He suggested a gorgeous sterling snake clip made just for Edison.  It’s a stunning clip, but I thought that the snake might be a little too much snake for the yellowstone cap.

Edison Huron with Silver Snake (photo courtesy of Brian Gray, Edison Pen)

We’d exhausted the topic of cap “furniture,” I thought, especially after me whining about how just a “little” something might do. Then miraculously Brian remembered he had a little sterling ring made for the Huron series. He’d forgotten about it, and the project has lain dormant.

Edison Huron with Sterling Silver Ring (photo courtesy Brian Gray/Edison Pen)
Edison Huron with Sterling Silver Ring (photo clipped from Brian Gray YouTube video)

A definite little something! How’d that happen? The ring was sterling silver, though, and the yellowstone Huron demanded something gold-plated. Right?

Brian sent the ring out to see if it could be plated. What do you think of the outcome?

Edison Huron gets a cap-lift
Edison Huron gets a cap-lift

A perfect little something, ay? It’s like a small wave of “oh hello, there” on the cap. I love the simplicity of it!

An added surprise bonus: the ring functions as a pretty good roll-stop. Admittedly, a good thunder clap on the desk won’t keep the pen from rolling even with the ring, but for a casual lay-about, the ring works great at keeping the pen on the desk without the usual pen rest.

Updated to include some information about the fit of the cap ring. The ring does slip-on and off, although it is on the cap very securely! Brian emailed this about removing or changing position on the cap:

You can slide it up and down. Since it’s Sterling, it has some bend and give to it.

Of course, use common sense, but removing it, or moving it up and down the cap is fine.

If you move it down, it might stretch a little bit, and then not fit as tight up high on the cap. If this happens, and you want the ring to be higher up again, just take it off of the cap, and give it a careful squeeze to get it to be a touch smaller.

September 2009 was the month Brian made my yellowstone Edison Huron, and sent it my way. Gold may not be a traditional fourth year anniversary present, but nothing about my Huron feels traditional. I like it that way.

Nice “cap-lift,” Mr. Gray. Nice indeed.

Related Posts:
Edison Huron
Custom Tortoise Lucite

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

10 thoughts on “Edison Huron Revisited: If You Like It, Put a Ring on It

  1. It’s like…proposing to your pen with an engagement ring! 😄 A good way to “go steady” after a long and satisfying relationship. I’m curious to know if the ring is slip-on (aka friction-fit, aka removable) or welded on. It looks pretty sturdy. Does the added girth make the pen harder to fit in pen cases?

    Also, I have to say your Vine animation nearly gave me a heart attack. I thought the Mina was going to roll right off the table….! >___<

    Gives me a good heads-up to watch where I put mine once I get it.

    Like

    1. Great questions, Jade! The ring is nice and small, and not very thick at all. So, should not be any more “problem” in a pen case than a clip. It is on very sturdy, and it is removable or “slip-on.” Brian gave me some easy instruction about removing the ring which I’ll add to the original post. Removing is no biggie!

      FYI: I ALWAYS use a pen rest for the Mina. That video of course was just for fun.

      Like

  2. I’m getting ready to do a post about my new Beaumont Pneumatic. Now I just want another Edison….I can see this becoming a slippery slope….thanks for sharing your article. Your Huron is lovely. I love the cheerful yellow color!

    Like

    1. Jennie! Thanks for posting. I’m thinking you rather like that Beaumont Pneumatic! Looking forward to your post about it.

      Like

  3. The title of this post made me chuckle! I love the look of the ring. It is minimal, but just what is necessary to keep the pen from rolling around. I had wanted something minimal for a “roll stopper” on a future pen, and this may just be the ticket!

    Like

Comments are closed.